E. A. Clark’s Lay Me To Rest – Blog Tour Review

Lay Me To Rest Hoirzantal Banner

I don’t often pick up thrillers, but I was greatly tempted by the blurb for Lay Me To Rest – and damn, I enjoyed this read! Set predominantly in rural North Wales (as an ex-pat, I love reading anything set in the Motherland), the beautiful landscape is the background for terrible deeds and terrifying events. There’s a strong supernatural thread in this thriller and I had to read it with all the lights on. The fact I was reading it in an old holiday cottage added an extra frisson to the whole thing.Lay Me to Rest use

Annie Philips, recently widowed and pregnant with her first child, decides to take up the offer of a holiday cottage in North Wales. The location comes at the recommendation of her sister’s colleague, Peter, and it is Peter who offers to drive the bereaved Annie to Tyddyn Bach, a small cottage on the farm of the lovely Will and Gwen Parry. They know what it is to lose someone they’ve loved – their son, Glyn, died nearly ten years ago – and so this seems to be the perfect place for Annie to rest and take stock of her life and impending motherhood. However, as we know from the Prologue, this is not going to be the case – very quickly, Annie finds herself at the mercy of a malevolent force, hellbent on revenge. Long shadows are cast by love affairs of the past.

salem_large_large

I tore through this novel at a high speed, desperate to know how events would unfold. There are nice touches which add to the brooding atmosphere – my great grandmother had a print of the rather sinister Salem  – and I liked the calm and reassuring Nia a good deal. Clark’s descriptions of the Welsh landscape in high summer juxtapose brilliantly with the chilling developments and I found Annie both a believable and sympathetic character. I’m hoping we’re going to see more of her … I may not read thrillers very often – but I’ll certainly be looking out for more novels by E. A. Clark.

Blurb

Some secrets never stay buried for long…

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.

She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…

Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?

A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

Purchase from Amazon UK: amzn.to/2k7xLmq

E. A. Clark lives in the Midlands with her husband and son, plus a rather temperamentalEA Clark cat, a rabbit and a chinchilla. She has three (now grown-up) children and five grandchildren. She is particularly partial to Italian food, decent red wine (or any coloured wine come to that …) and cake – and has been known to over-indulge in each on occasions.

She has a penchant for visiting old graveyards and speculating on the demise of those entombed beneath. Whilst she has written short stories and poetry for many years, a lifelong fascination with all things paranormal has culminated in her first novel for adults, Lay Me to Rest. The setting is inspired by her love of Wales, owing to her father’s Celtic roots.

Follow E.A. Clark on…

Twitter – https://twitter.com/EAClarkAuthor

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.clark.779857

Lay Me To Rest Tour Schedule

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s